Docsity
Docsity

Prepare for your exams
Prepare for your exams

Study with the several resources on Docsity


Earn points to download
Earn points to download

Earn points by helping other students or get them with a premium plan


Guidelines and tips
Guidelines and tips

PEAC 335 Softball High School Arbiter Test, Exams of Sport Studies

A practice test or study guide for the peac 335 softball high school arbiter test. It covers a variety of rules and regulations related to softball, including illegal slides, legal eye shields, fair batted balls, batting out of order, and other game situations. The correct answers to multiple-choice and true/false questions, making it a valuable resource for individuals preparing for the softball high school arbiter test. The level of detail and the comprehensive coverage of softball rules suggest that this document could be useful for university students studying sports management, physical education, or coaching, as well as high school students interested in officiating softball games.

Typology: Exams

2023/2024

Available from 08/16/2024

tizian-kylan
tizian-kylan 🇺🇸

2.7

(21)

3.8K documents

1 / 6

Toggle sidebar

This page cannot be seen from the preview

Don't miss anything!

bg1
PEAC 335 Softball High School Arbiter Test |
100% Correct Answers | Verified | Latest
2024 Version
A slide is illegal if: - ✔✔Not- The runner uses a rilling or cross-body slide into the fielder. Not- The
runner's raised leg is higher than the fielder's knee when the fielder is in a standing position.
A defensive player takes the field with an eye shield connected to her face/head protection. What
material is legal for an eye shield? - ✔✔Material that is clear and permits 100% allowable light
transmission
A fair batted ball is wedged into the fence. The umpire should: - ✔✔Call a dead ball and award the batter
two bases
B1 enters the batter's box on the right side while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch. B1 disconcerts
the pitcher by moving to the left had batter's box. The correct ruling is: - ✔✔The ball is dead
immediately and batter is called out.
The batter throws her bat and interferes with a defensive player attempting a play. The batter is out, the
ball is dead immediately, and all runners must return to the base occupied at the time of the
interference. - ✔✔True
There are two outs and R1 is on second base. B4 strikes out, but F2 drops the ball. B4 is able to reach
first base while F2 chases down the ball. F2 then overthrows third base as R1 is advancing and the ball
bounces over the fence in foul territory. What is the correct procedure for advancement of the runners?
- ✔✔R1 is awarded home and B4 is awarded third base.
R1 is on first base. B2 hits a pitch with one foot touching the ground completely outside the batter's box.
F4 obstructs R1 advancing to second base. The correct ruling is: - ✔✔Dead ball. B2 is out and R1 must
return to first base.
There are four criteria that an umpire uses to judge whether a batter attempted to hit or bunt the
pitched ball. Which statement is NOT correct? - ✔✔Not- Rolling the wrist and swinging through the
pf3
pf4
pf5

Partial preview of the text

Download PEAC 335 Softball High School Arbiter Test and more Exams Sport Studies in PDF only on Docsity!

PEAC 335 Softball High School Arbiter Test |

100% Correct Answers | Verified | Latest

2024 Version

A slide is illegal if: - ✔✔Not- The runner uses a rilling or cross-body slide into the fielder. Not- The runner's raised leg is higher than the fielder's knee when the fielder is in a standing position. A defensive player takes the field with an eye shield connected to her face/head protection. What material is legal for an eye shield? - ✔✔Material that is clear and permits 100% allowable light transmission A fair batted ball is wedged into the fence. The umpire should: - ✔✔Call a dead ball and award the batter two bases B1 enters the batter's box on the right side while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch. B1 disconcerts the pitcher by moving to the left had batter's box. The correct ruling is: - ✔✔The ball is dead immediately and batter is called out. The batter throws her bat and interferes with a defensive player attempting a play. The batter is out, the ball is dead immediately, and all runners must return to the base occupied at the time of the interference. - ✔✔True There are two outs and R1 is on second base. B4 strikes out, but F2 drops the ball. B4 is able to reach first base while F2 chases down the ball. F2 then overthrows third base as R1 is advancing and the ball bounces over the fence in foul territory. What is the correct procedure for advancement of the runners?

  • ✔✔R1 is awarded home and B4 is awarded third base. R1 is on first base. B2 hits a pitch with one foot touching the ground completely outside the batter's box. F4 obstructs R1 advancing to second base. The correct ruling is: - ✔✔Dead ball. B2 is out and R1 must return to first base. There are four criteria that an umpire uses to judge whether a batter attempted to hit or bunt the pitched ball. Which statement is NOT correct? - ✔✔Not- Rolling the wrist and swinging through the

pitched ball is considered an attempt. Not- If the bat is drawn back before the pitch gets to the bat, it is not an attempt. A substitute or courtesy runner shall enter the contest unreported. - ✔✔False A uniform shall not have any dangerous or reflective buttons or ornaments. - ✔✔True A strikeout is the result of a third strike charged to a batter. - ✔✔True A runner is out if she runs more than two feet from the base path to avoid being touched by the ball in the hand of s fielder. - ✔✔False A strike is charged to the batter when a pitch is swung at and missed. - ✔✔True Who can the a pitcher take a signal from while on the pitcher's plate? - ✔✔All these answers as long as the pitcher pauses and simulates taking a signal from the catcher prior to bringing her hands together. Starting at first base, R1 overruns second base on a hit by B2. In the ensuing rundown, both runners end up on second base. F6 tags both runners. The correct ruling is: - ✔✔B2 is out. A batting helmet is considered legal if it has: - ✔✔A surface with no dents or cracks. B1 hits a ground ball that goes past F3. No other fielder had a chance to make an out, but the ball strikes the umpire. The correct call is: - ✔✔The ball remains live and B1 can advance as many bases as possible with the liability to be put out. Batting out of order is a live ball appeal. - ✔✔False All of the following statements about sliding are true EXCEPT: - ✔✔Not- If a runner slides, it may be feet first or head first. Not- In order to complete a legal slide, a runner must be able to touch the base with either her hand or foot.

A team's lineup card must include all of the following, EXCEPT: - ✔✔All of these answers are required. An intentional walk can be granted by any defensive player. - ✔✔False Once the ball has been returned to the pitcher to prepare for the next pitch, she has 10 seconds to release the pitch. - ✔✔False Missing a base, either advancing or returning is a live or dead-ball appeal. - ✔✔True With R1 on second base, B2 is at bat with a 2 ball-1 strike count. The next pitch is completely in the batter's box and barely grazes the jersey of B2 while R1 breaks to steal third base. The catcher throws to third base and R1 is tagged out. What is the correct ruling? - ✔✔The ball is dead, B2 is awarded first base. R1 returns to second base Arguing ball and strike calls or other umpire judgment calls is prohibited. - ✔✔True Regarding the taper of a softball bat, which statement is NOT in compliance with current rules? - ✔✔The taper of a bat is defined as having a solid surface. The offense or defense is allowed to use either the white or colored portion of first base for all situations EXCEPT: - ✔✔Not- Any force out attempt from the foul side of first base Not- A base on balls awarded to the batter Bases are loaded with no outs, with a one-ball, on-strike count. B4 hits a ground ball. As F4 is fielding the ball, R3 collides with her. What is the correct ruling? - ✔✔Not- The ball is dead and R3 is out. All other runners return to their bases and B4 returns to bat with the same count. Not- R3 is out. If the interference prevented an obvious double play, the succeeding runner (B4) is also out. R1 and R advance at their own risk. Which statement is an incorrect ruling of interference? - ✔✔Not- If a retired runner impedes a fielder making a play on another runner, the runner closest to home is always declared out. Not- If a runner has

not yet been put out and interference occurs to break a double play, the immediate succeeding runner is out. All of the following about sliding are true EXCEPT: - ✔✔A runner can only slide feet first. A batter may be awarded first base when: - ✔✔Not- A fair batted ball strikes the person, attached equipment or clothing of an umpire or a runner. Not-If a runner has not yet been put out and interference occurs to break a double play, the immediate succeeding runner is out. R1 is on third base and R2 is on first base with one out. B4 hits a fly ball in foul territory near the first- base line. R2 interferes with F3 attempting to catch the fly ball. The correct call is: - ✔✔The ball is dead immediately, R2 is out and B4 is charged with a foul ball. A crow hop is when both feet are airborne by the pitcher prior to delivering the pitch. - ✔✔False The ball always becomes immediately dead when: - ✔✔A batter strikes at a pitch that touches her. "Time" is the term used by the umpire to suspend play. The ball becomes dead when it is given. - ✔✔True The ball is dead immediately if there is obstruction. - ✔✔False A fellow runner can assist another runner is that runner falls. - ✔✔True B1 bunts the ball. The first baseman fields the ball and prepares to tag out B1 as she runs toward first base. B1 stops and steps back toward home plate to avoid the tag. The correct ruling is: - ✔✔Dead ball. The batter is out and runners return to the last bases touched at the time of the interference. The batter is out when: - ✔✔She hits the ball fair or foul while either foot is touching the plate.