Docsity
Docsity

Prepare for your exams
Prepare for your exams

Study with the several resources on Docsity


Earn points to download
Earn points to download

Earn points by helping other students or get them with a premium plan


Guidelines and tips
Guidelines and tips

2022 OHSAA Baseball Online Test(Already Passed)Verified 100% Correct!!., Exams of Nursing

2022 OHSAA Baseball Online Test(Already Passed)Verified 100% Correct!!.

Typology: Exams

2023/2024

Available from 07/09/2024

EXAMSPLUGLINE
EXAMSPLUGLINE 🇬🇧

25 documents

1 / 11

Toggle sidebar

This page cannot be seen from the preview

Don't miss anything!

bg1
2022 OHSAA Baseball Online
Test(Already Passed)Verified 100%
Correct!!
B4 hits a ball into the left-center gap. As he rounds 1st he deliberately removes his
batting helmet as he goes to 2nd, where he is safe. Since B4's team had previously
been warned about the removal of the helmet while in live-ball territory, while the ball
is live, at the end of playing action:
a. B4 is called out. B4 and B4's coach are restricted to the dugout for the duration of
the game.
b. No penalty. B4 remains in the game at 2nd.
c. B4 is called out and ejected.
d. At the end of playing action B4 is ejected and a substitute takes his place on base.
No out is declared. - Answer D
The catcher removes his equipment and leaves it lying on the ground outside the
dugout. A thrown ball rolls into his mask/helmet.
a. All outs recorded before the ball rolled into the mask/helmet are negated.
b. The coach is restricted for the duration of the game for allowing the equipment be
left outside the dugout in live ball territory.
c. The catcher is ejected for leaving his equipment outside the dugout in live ball
territory.
d. All outs, awarded bases, or returned runners are based on the umpire's judgment
and the circumstances of the play. - Answer D
If an on-deck batter wishes to warm up, he;
a. can be just outside the batter's box.
b. can be in the other team's on-deck circle.
c. must be in his team's on-deck circle only.
d. can be behind the catcher while the pitcher is warming up. - Answer C
With 2 outs, Wilson singles to drive in 2 runs. The home coach comes to the plate
umpire and shows him that Wilson is listed as #4 on the lineup card but is actually
#10. He wants Wilson called out and the runs negated.
a. Because Wilson is listed on the line up card by the wrong number, he is called out
for the 3rd out. No runs score.
b. Because Wilson is listed on the line up card by the wrong number, he is called out
for the 3rd out, however, the runs score.
c. Wilson is restricted to the dugout and a sub takes his place on base. All runs
score.
d. Wilson being listed on the line up card by the wrong shirt number does not affect
the play. The player's number on the line up card must be corrected. All runs score. -
Answer D
Team A's pitcher goes to the mound to begin his warm up throws. The umpire
notices that he is wearing a dark compression sleeve on his pitching arm that
extends to his wrist but does not have one on his other arm.
a. This is illegal. The pitcher cannot have anything below his elbow, no matter the
color.
b. This is legal as long as the pitcher's sleeve is black or another solid dark color.
pf3
pf4
pf5
pf8
pf9
pfa

Partial preview of the text

Download 2022 OHSAA Baseball Online Test(Already Passed)Verified 100% Correct!!. and more Exams Nursing in PDF only on Docsity!

Test(Already Passed)Verified 100%

Correct!!

B4 hits a ball into the left-center gap. As he rounds 1st he deliberately removes his batting helmet as he goes to 2nd, where he is safe. Since B4's team had previously been warned about the removal of the helmet while in live-ball territory, while the ball is live, at the end of playing action: a. B4 is called out. B4 and B4's coach are restricted to the dugout for the duration of the game. b. No penalty. B4 remains in the game at 2nd. c. B4 is called out and ejected. d. At the end of playing action B4 is ejected and a substitute takes his place on base. No out is declared. - Answer D The catcher removes his equipment and leaves it lying on the ground outside the dugout. A thrown ball rolls into his mask/helmet. a. All outs recorded before the ball rolled into the mask/helmet are negated. b. The coach is restricted for the duration of the game for allowing the equipment be left outside the dugout in live ball territory. c. The catcher is ejected for leaving his equipment outside the dugout in live ball territory. d. All outs, awarded bases, or returned runners are based on the umpire's judgment and the circumstances of the play. - Answer D If an on-deck batter wishes to warm up, he; a. can be just outside the batter's box. b. can be in the other team's on-deck circle. c. must be in his team's on-deck circle only. d. can be behind the catcher while the pitcher is warming up. - Answer C With 2 outs, Wilson singles to drive in 2 runs. The home coach comes to the plate umpire and shows him that Wilson is listed as #4 on the lineup card but is actually #10. He wants Wilson called out and the runs negated. a. Because Wilson is listed on the line up card by the wrong number, he is called out for the 3rd out. No runs score. b. Because Wilson is listed on the line up card by the wrong number, he is called out for the 3rd out, however, the runs score. c. Wilson is restricted to the dugout and a sub takes his place on base. All runs score. d. Wilson being listed on the line up card by the wrong shirt number does not affect the play. The player's number on the line up card must be corrected. All runs score. - Answer D Team A's pitcher goes to the mound to begin his warm up throws. The umpire notices that he is wearing a dark compression sleeve on his pitching arm that extends to his wrist but does not have one on his other arm. a. This is illegal. The pitcher cannot have anything below his elbow, no matter the color. b. This is legal as long as the pitcher's sleeve is black or another solid dark color.

Test(Already Passed)Verified 100%

Correct!!

c. This is illegal. Both of the pitcher's arms must be the same. d. Both A and C - Answer B R1 slides past the base on a force play at 2nd and alters the play without making contact with the fielder. This is: a. a legal slide. Contact must be made for this to be an illegal slide. b. an illegal slide. Continuing past the base and altering the play, even without contact makes this an illegal slide. c. None d. None - Answer A Time of the pitch for the set position occurs: a. the instant that the pitcher comes to a discernible stop. b. as the pitcher is coming set. c. the instant the pitcher comes to a discernible stop, and he then starts any movement with his arm/s and/or leg/s that commits him to pitch. d. the instant the pitcher moves his arm(s) or leg(s) to come set. - Answer C With both hands at his side in the windup position, the time of the pitch occurs when the pitcher: a. moves one hand in front of his body. b. starts any movement with both arms. c. starts any movement with his non-pitching arm. d. A and C - Answer D No outs R3 on 3rd and R1 on 1st. R1 breaks for second as the pitcher begins his stretch. Because R3 is on 3rd, the pitcher continues his stretch ignoring R1. R reaches second and rounds the base as the pitcher comes set. The pitcher then delivers a legal pitch and the batter fouls the ball into the stands. a. R1 must return 1st base. b. R1 remains at 2nd because he had legally attained the base before the time of the pitch. c. R1 is called out. d. None of the above - Answer B R2 on 2nd is attempting to steal 3rd. B2's lines the ball into right field for a hit. F5, in order to prevent R2 from scoring, fakes a tag as he is coming into 3rd forcing him to slide. a. This is interference. b. This a legal play. R2 remains at 3rd. c. This results in B2 being awarded 3 bases. d. This is obstruction. R2 is awarded third base and can be award home if, in the umpires judgement, he would have scored except for the obstruction - Answer D With one out and a 1-1 count, the batter hits a high fly ball to left field near the foul line. While the ball is still in the air, the umpire inadvertently declares "foul ball".

Test(Already Passed)Verified 100%

Correct!!

d. The ball is dead and B4 is awarded 1st base. - Answer B If no announcement of a sub for a runner is made, he is considered to have entered the game when; a. the runner takes the place of a runner he has replaced and the ball is made live. b. he has been finally reported to the umpire-in-chief. c. the player being subbed for leaves the field. d. when he has taken the place of the runner he is subbing for. - Answer A The coach of Team A comes out to the mound to talk with his pitcher in the 5th inning. If he does not remove his pitcher, this will be his 3rd charged conference. After talking with the pitcher the coach starts to return to the dugout/bench without removing the pitcher. After crossing the foul line the coach decides he needs to tell the pitcher something else and returns to the mound. a. The coach's 3rd charged conference ended when he crossed the foul line. Returning to talk with his pitcher would be his 4th charged conference. The coach must replace the pitcher. b. This is still part of the coach's 3rd charged conference since he had not reached the dugout. He does not have to replace the pitcher. c. The coach must replace the pitcher on the 3rd charged conference. d. A team gets 5 charged conferences per 7 inning game. - Answer A Team A has players in uniform in the stands to chart pitches during the game. a. This is an unsportsmanlike act and is not allowed. It is illegal for players to be outside the dugout, bullpen area, if not a batter, runner, on-deck batter, in a coach's box, or one of the nine players on defense. b. This is legal. Since these players are not in the game at this time they can be in the stands charting pitches. c. The coach is warned. d. A and C - Answer D B1 hits a home run out of the park. He misses 3rd base and the coach grabs him and shoves him back toward the base so he can touch 3rd. a. Due to the ball being dead this is not considered assisting the runner. The actions by the coach are ignored and B1 is allowed to score. b. Even though the ball is dead, the coach's actions are considered assisting the runner. The runner is called out immediately. c. The ball is dead and the coach is restricted. d. B1 is not called out but the coach is restricted due to his actions. - Answer A An illegal substitute, S1, is on second base with 2 outs. B4 hits a home run out of the park. The defense, before the next pitch, discovers that S1 was illegal and brings this to the umpire's attention. a. S1 is called out and restricted to the dugout. B4's home run is negated and he leads off the next inning. No runs score.

Test(Already Passed)Verified 100%

Correct!!

b. The coach did not bring the illegal sub to the umpire's attention in time. S1 and B4's runs count. S1 is restricted. c. S1 is called out and restricted to the dugout. S1's run is negated but B4's run counts. d. The coach did not bring the illegal sub to the umpire's attention in time. S1 and B4's runs count. S1 becomes an unreported sub and can remain in the game. - Answer D Brown is listed as the starting pitcher on Team A's lineup card, batting in the 9 hole. Team A in the top of the 1st is still at bat when Brown's second turn at bat comes again. The coach for Team A decides to sub a pinch hitter for Brown. a. Since Brown has not had the opportunity to fulfill the rule by pitching to at least one batter, he is still eligible to pitch in the bottom of the 1st. b. Since Brown did not fulfill the rule by pitching to at least one batter, he is ineligible to pitch in the game. c. Since Brown did not fulfill the rule by pitching to at least one batter, he cannot pitch until the next inning. d. Since Brown did not fulfill the rule, he is ejected. - Answer A The assistant coach who is occupying the first base coaching box is irate over an "out" call on a steal at second base. The assistant coach goes to the area around second base and while arguing the call kicks dirt on the base umpire. a. The assistant coach is ejected for kicking dirt. No written warning is needed. b. The head coach is restricted to the bench for the remainder of the game. c. No one is ejected or restricted to the bench. A written warning must first be given. d. Both A and B. - Answer D A dead ball becomes live when: a. it is held by the pitcher in a legal pitching position on the rubber, the batter and catcher are in their respective boxes, and the umpire calls "play." b. the pitcher is in a legal pitching position on the rubber. c. the batter enters the batter's box, even if the pitcher is not on the rubber. d. the catcher is in his box, even with the batter outside the batter's box. - Answer A The runner that misses a base and is on or beyond a succeeding base when the ball becomes dead,; a. may not return to touch the missed base, and can be called out upon proper and successful appeal. b. may return to touch the missed bases. c. cannot be called out on appeal, due to his having reached a succeeding base. d. None of the above - Answer A With R1 on 1st and R2 on 2nd, F1 delivers a pitch in the dirt that becomes trapped in F2's chest protector. a. The ball becomes immediately dead. R1 and R2 are awarded one base each. b. The ball becomes immediately dead. R1 and R2 are awarded 2 bases each.

Test(Already Passed)Verified 100%

Correct!!

The batter swings at a third strike and the ball hits him. a. The batter is charged with a strike and called out. He is not awarded 1st for being hit by the pitch. b. The batter is awarded 1st base due to being hit by the pitch. c. Neither a ball or strike is awarded. The ball is dead, no pitch. d. The pitcher is ejected by rule for hitting the batter. - Answer A With two outs, R3 on third attempts to steal home. The batter, B6, interferes with the catcher's attempt to tag R3 as he crosses the plate. a. Interference is called on B6 and the runner, R3, is called out. B6 leads off the next inning. b. Interference is called on B6. B6 is called out because his interference occurred with two outs. R3's run does not count. c. Obstruction is called on B6. R3 is called out because of B6's obstruction. The inning is over. d. No interference is enforced because B6 has the right to move anywhere in the batter's box at any time. - Answer B No outs and R3 on 3rd. The pitch gets by the catcher and rolls to the screen. The pitcher covers home as R3 races in from 3rd. The batter remains in the batter's box. The throw from the catcher to the pitcher covering home is high and the pitcher cannot make the catch. a. This is interference. B4 did not vacate the area when he had the opportunity to do so. A batter is required to vacate a congested area when there is a throw to home and there is time for the batter to move away. b. This is obstruction. B4 did not vacate the area when he had the opportunity to do so, even though he did not directly interfere with the pitcher covering home. c. B4's actions are legal since he did not directly interfere with the pitcher covering home. d. This obstruction on F1. R3 is awarded home. - Answer A One out, R3 on third, R1 on first. R1 attempts to steal second. B4 interferes with the catcher on his throw to second. F6 cuts off the catcher's throw, and throws home in at attempt to put out R3, who is attempting to score. a. B4's interference is ignored. R3 is out and R1 remains at 2nd. b. Interference is called on B4. When the catcher's initial throw did not result in R being called out at 2nd, the ball is immediately dead. R3 returns to 3rd, R1 returns to 1st, and B4 is called out for interference. c. R3 is called out at home and R1 is returned to 1st. B4's interference is ignored since R3 is called out. d. R1 is called out at 2nd. R3 returns to 3rd base and B4 remains at bat. - Answer D No outs, R3 on third and R1 on first. R1 attempts to steal second. B4 interferes with F2, but F2's throw gets R1 out. During the play at second, R3 scores. a. Due to R1 being thrown out at 2nd, B4's interference is ignored and R3 counts.

Test(Already Passed)Verified 100%

Correct!!

b. Even though R1 was thrown out at 2nd, interference is still called on B4 resulting in R3 being sent back to 3rd. c. Even though R1 was thrown out at 2nd, interference is still called on B4 resulting in R3 being called out also. d. The defensive team has the option of taking the result of the play, R1's out at 2nd and R3 scoring, or B4's interference. B4 out, R1 and R3 returned to their respective bases. - Answer A One out and R3 on 3rd. F1 is on the pitcher's plate in the wind-up position. R attempts to steal home. F1 seeing R3 break for home legally steps back off the pitcher's plate with his pivot foot first and throws to F2. B2, with 1-0 count swings at the throw. a. This is interference on B2 and a delayed dead ball. If R3 is tagged out at home the interference is ignored. If R3 is not tagged out, R3 is out due to B2's interference. B remains at bat. b. If B2's swing at the throw does not make contact there is no interference on B2, and the ball remains live. R3's run counts if he is safe at home. B2 remains at bat. c. F1's action is considered to be a pitch. Any action by B2's is considered legal. d. Any attempt to hit the throw by B2 is considered interference. The ball becomes dead, and both he and R3 are called out. - Answer A A batter is declared out when he hits the ball, foul or fair, : a. and either foot or knee is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box. b. and either foot or his knee is touching any part of a line that makes up the batter's box. c. and any part of either foot or knee is touching outside a line that makes up the batter's box. d. None of the above - Answer A With the count 2-0, B4 squares to bunt and fouls the ball off while his toe is touching the plate and his heel in still in the batter's box. a. The ball is dead immediately and B4 is called out. b. The ball is dead immediately and a strike is called on the batter if any part of his foot is on a line that makes up the batter's box. c. The ball remains live with a strike being charged to the batter. d. the batter is called out and ejected. - Answer A R1 on 1st gets a great jump on the pitcher and is sliding into 2nd when B2 swings and misses the pitch for strike three. B2's follow-through strikes the catcher. a. B2 is declared out due to striking out, and due to B2's interference R1 is returned to 1st. If, in the umpire's judgment, R1 could have been thrown out, he could be declared out also. b. B2's interference is ignored. R1 remains on 2nd. B2 is out on strikes. c. B2 and R1 are declared out due to B2's interference. d. R1 is returned to 1st and B2 remains at bat. The pitch Is ignored. - Answer B

Test(Already Passed)Verified 100%

Correct!!

With R1 on 1st and R3 on 3rd and no outs, R1 takes his lead from 1st about 3 feet onto the outfield grass behind 1st. The pitcher attempts to pick-off R1 by throwing to the 1st baseman. R1 runs directly toward 2nd base from his position. a. R1 is called out immediately because he has run more than 3 feet outside a direct line between 1st and 2nd. b. R1 is not out until he is tagged. The runner establishes his path between the bases. If he runs directly toward 2nd his path is legal. c. This is an illegal position on base for R1. He is called out immediately when he steps onto the outfield grass. d. When an attempt to pick R1 off is initiated, the ball is dead and R3 is awarded home. - Answer C With the bases loaded and no outs. R3 attempts to steal home. He is struck by the pitch which is in the strike zone. The count on B7 was 0-2. a. B7 is out on strike three, R3 scores, R2 and R1 are awarded one base due to R being hit by the pitch. b. B7 is out on strike three, R3 scores, R2 and R1 are awarded two bases due to R being hit by the pitch. c. B7 is out on strike three, R3 scores, R2 and R1 must return to the bases they occupied at the time of the pitch due to R3 being hit by the pitch. d. B7 is out on strike three, R3's score is negated and he is returned to 3rd. - Answer D Bases loaded when B4 grounds the ball up the first base line to F3. B4 is hit by F3's throw to F2, in an attempt to retire R3 trying to score from 3rd. B4 is not in the 45' running lane when he was unintentionally hit by F3's throw. a. Interference is called on B4 for being out of the running lane. The ball becomes dead when it hits B4. B4 and R3 are called out. b. There is no interference by B4. For there to be interference on B4 for being out of the running lane, the throw must come from behind B4. c. Interference is called on B4 for being out of the running lane. The ball becomes dead. B4 is out and R3 is returned to 3rd. d. Interference is called on B4 for being out of the running lane. The ball becomes dead. B4 is awarded 1st and R3 is called out. - Answer B The bases are loaded with no outs. B6 grounds into a second to first double play with R2 and R3 scoring. R2 misses third and is declared out on a proper appeal for the 3rd out. How many runs score? a. No runs are scored. R2's out on appeal is a force out. No run(s) can score when the 3rd out is a force out. b. One run scores, R3. The force is removed on R2 going to 3rd once R1 is out at 2nd. c. Both runs score due to the defense choosing to turn the double play. No appeals are legal after the defense initiates a play. d. None of the above - Answer A

Test(Already Passed)Verified 100%

Correct!!

With a runner on first base, the batter singles to the outfield. As the runner from first nears second base, he is obstructed by the shortstop causing him to miss second base. He is safe at third and the defense calls time and appeals his missing second base. a. The appeal is valid. The runner is declared out for missing second base. b. The runner is not declared out on appeal. The obstruction by the defense caused him to miss second base. - Answer B B5 bunts the ball and then drops his bat straight down and takes off to 1st. The ball goes straight down and bounces up and hits the falling bat and goes into fair territory. a. Because the hitting of the ball a second time, by the bat was not intentional, the ball remains live and playing action continues. b. The ball is dead immediately and no runners can advance. This is a foul ball. c. The ball is dead immediately. B5 is awarded 1st base, and any other runner/s advance if forced due to the awarding of 1st to B5. d. The ball is dead immediately, B5 is called out and all other runners return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. - Answer B